Homelab & Hardware

NAS Power Consumption: Watts and Yearly Cost by Model

Spec-sheet and wall-meter numbers for the NAS units on my price tracker, with what each costs to run. Every row links to its source.

By Brandon Sheley · Updated

Short answer: by the makers' own figures, a 2-bay NAS draws about 12-16W with its drives active, a 4-bay about 35-42W, and 5- to 8-bay units about 43-54W. With the drives spun down, those drop to roughly 4-8W, 11-22W and 17-26W. At the U.S. average rate, a 4-bay running 24/7 with its drives awake costs about $57-69 a year.

The drives are most of the bill, not the CPU: Synology's own numbers work out to about 5-7W for each spinning 3.5-inch drive.

NAS Power Draw by Model (Manufacturer Figures)

Each maker tests with its own drives and settings, so compare models from the same brand more confidently than across brands. "Per year" assumes the drives stay active around the clock at 18.6¢/kWh, which is the worst case.

ModelBaysDrives spun downDrives activePer year (active 24/7)Live priceCPUSource
Synology DS224+24.41W14.69W$24None todayIntel Celeron J4125Synology spec sheet
QNAP TS-253D28.2W12.45W$20None todayIntel Celeron J4125QNAP specs
UGREEN DXP280025.24W16.38W$27from $350Intel N100UGREEN specs
Synology DS923+411.52W35.51W$58from $650AMD Ryzen R1600Synology spec sheet
QNAP TS-464421.62W40.54W$66from $500Intel Celeron N5095QNAP specs
ASUSTOR AS6704T417.3W35W$57from $682Intel Celeron N5105ASUSTOR comparison sheet
UGREEN DXP4800 Plus418.12W42.36W$69from $540Intel Pentium Gold 8505UGREEN specs
Synology DS1522+516.71W52.06W$85from $725AMD Ryzen R1600Synology spec sheet
UGREEN DXP6800 Pro624.91W43.07W$70None todayIntel Core i5-1235UUGREEN specs
Synology RS1221+822.64W49.89W$81from $1,500AMD Ryzen V1500BSynology specs
QNAP TS-873A825.67W54.07W$88from $1,314AMD Ryzen V1500BQNAP specs

"Drives spun down" is the maker's hibernation or disk standby figure; "drives active" is its access or typical operating figure. QNAP says its operating figures were taken with every bay filled, and UGREEN says it tested the DXP2800 and DXP4800 Plus with Seagate 2TB drives. Synology's and ASUSTOR's sheets don't name the drives. Live prices are the lowest current working listing on my NAS price tracker as of Oct 30, 2026, and some include drives.

Measured at the Wall by Reviewers

Spec sheets are useful for comparing models, but a wall meter shows what a box really pulls. These are published measurements from named reviewers, with the drives they used.

ModelDrives installedDrives asleepIdleBusyMeasured by
Synology DS1522+5× WD Ultrastar 10TB, RAID 5Not tested~23W (24-hour average)~47W (24-hour average, 2 cameras recording plus a small VM)NASCompares
TerraMaster F4-423Hard drives (models not listed)10.2W24.6W33.1W (writing)ComputerBase
Synology DS920+Hard drives (same test as the F4-423)5.4W26.1W33.8W (writing)ComputerBase
UGREEN DXP6800 ProNone / 4× Seagate IronWolf 4TBNot testedUp to 22.4W with no drives; 36.6-41.9W with four drivesNot reportedNotebookcheck
UGREEN DXP2800One NVMe SSD, no hard drives5.6W (standby)Not reported14.5W (transferring data)Igor's Lab

ComputerBase, Igor's Lab and Notebookcheck are German publications and measured on 230V; NASCompares used a smart plug. Differences of a watt or two between reviews are noise. The DS1522+ result is a useful reality check: real idle with five drives spinning (about 23W) sits between Synology's hibernation figure (16.7W) and its access figure (52.1W).

What the Numbers Say

  • Drives, not the CPU, set the bill. Synology's access-minus-hibernation figures work out to about 5W per drive on the DS224+, 6W on the DS923+ and 7W on the DS1522+. Notebookcheck saw the same thing on the DXP6800 Pro: four 4TB IronWolf drives added roughly 14-20W at idle.
  • Bay count matters more than brand. Every 4-bay unit in the table lists 35-42W with its drives active; the 2-bays list 12-16W and the 5- to 8-bays 43-54W.
  • Fewer, bigger drives are cheaper to run. Two 20TB drives instead of four 10TB drives means two fewer motors spinning for the same raw capacity. Current per-TB prices by size are on the cost per TB page.
  • In dollars, the gap is real but modest. At the U.S. average of about 18.6¢/kWh, a 4-bay with drives always active is about $57-69 a year, a 2-bay about $20-27, and a mini PC idling at 13W about $21.

How to Lower Your NAS Power Draw

  • Turn on drive hibernation, then confirm it works. Docker containers, media servers that scan libraries, surveillance recording and indexing services can all keep drives awake.
  • Put always-on apps on an SSD. If containers and databases live on an SSD volume, the hard drives only need to wake for file access.
  • Use a power schedule if nobody needs the NAS overnight. Synology, QNAP and ASUSTOR all have scheduled shutdown and startup, and ASUSTOR also lists a sleep mode under 1W.
  • Consolidate drives. Replacing several small drives with one or two large ones cuts power and frees bays.
  • Measure your own. A plug-in meter or an energy-monitoring smart plug shows your real average over a day, with your drives and your apps.

Then put your number into the power cost calculator to see what it costs a year at your rate.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much power does a NAS use?

Maker spec sheets put a 2-bay NAS at about 4-8 watts with its drives spun down and 12-16 watts with the drives active, a 4-bay at 11-22 watts spun down and 35-42 watts active, and 5- to 8-bay units at 17-26 watts spun down and 43-54 watts active. The hard drives are most of the difference: Synology lists its DS923+ at 11.5W with the drives spun down and 35.5W while they are being accessed.

How much does it cost to run a NAS 24/7?

At the U.S. average residential rate of about 18.6 cents per kWh, a 4-bay NAS drawing 35-42W around the clock costs about $57-69 a year, and a 2-bay drawing 12-16W costs about $20-27. Multiply the watts by 8.76 to get kWh per year, then multiply by your rate.

How much power does a hard drive add to a NAS?

Roughly 5 to 7 watts per spinning 3.5-inch drive. Synology's own access and hibernation figures work out to about 5W per drive on the DS224+, 6W on the DS923+ and 7W on the DS1522+. Notebookcheck measured a UGREEN DXP6800 Pro at up to 22.4W idle with no drives and 36.6-41.9W idle with four 4TB IronWolf drives. Fewer, larger drives use less power for the same capacity.

Does drive hibernation save much power?

Yes, when the drives actually sleep. Synology lists the DS224+ at 14.7W with its drives active and 4.4W with them spun down, a difference of about $17 a year at the U.S. average rate. Apps that touch the disks, such as Docker containers, media servers and surveillance recording, often keep drives awake, so check that yours really spin down before counting on it.